Sanday Heritage Centre

Sanday Heritage Centre

Sanday Heritage Centre is situated on the outskirts of Lady Village. Located within Temperance Hall, the centre displays some of Sanday’s natural and man-made treasures and showcases some of the community’s history. Current displays focus on farming, the sea, archaeology, natural history and Sanday’s contribution to the First World War.display 800x601

The Horne Room, named in recognition of a significant financial bequest from the estate of the Horne family of Warsetter, houses the island’s photographic and oral history archives, as well as the beginning of a reference library of books and written archives. More information on the collection is available online.

Also within the centre is a small shop, stocked with greeting cards and postcards with Sanday themes, along with various island souvenirs and a chosen range of Orkney books.

The Centre opened in May 2014, and displays were enhanced the following year by new cabinets, an interactive media-booth, and live webcams; one overlooking a remote beach and another from an underwater camera. Plans for 2016 include a special display commemorating Sanday’s strange links to the 1916 Battle of Jutland.

Mound and croftAn outing to the Centre is made complete by a visit to The Croft and reconstruction the island’s Meur Burnt Mount, located less than a hundred yards away.

Sanday Heritage Centre was made possible by the hard work and enthusiasm of many of the island’s residents and the generous support of many funders.

Entry to the Heritage Centre is free but donations towards the maintenance of the collection are greatly appreciated.

Click here to have a short tour of Sanday's Heritage Centre, Burnt Mound and Croft.

Opening Hours

May - October: open 7 days a week, 9.30am-5pm
October - May: open Saturday and Sunday, 9.30-5pm

 

HC